

MASSACHUSETTS WATER RESOURCES AUTHORITY

Deer Island 33 Tafts Avenue Boston, MA 02128

Frederick A. Laskey Executive Director Telephone: (617) 242-6000 Fax: (617) 788-4899

TTY: (617) 788-4971

April 12, 2023

Todd Borci EPA Region 1 5 Post Office Square, Suite 100 Mail Code ECAD4-4 Boston MA, 02109-3912 Catherine Coniaris
Department of Environmental Protection
1 Winter Street
Boston, MA 02108

RE: Massachusetts Water Resources Authority

Permit Number MA 0103284

Quarterly Ambient Monitoring Results and Contingency Plan Reporting

Dear Mr. Borci and Ms. Coniaris:

In fulfillment of Part I.7.c.iv of the Massachusetts Water Resources Authority's ("MWRA") Deer Island Wastewater Treatment Plant permit, "The results of all monitoring required by the ambient monitoring plan or the eutrophication model shall be reported to EPA, MADEP, OMSAP and NMFS, on a quarterly basis," I am pleased to submit MWRA's quarterly report on ambient monitoring results. These reports are also available on MWRA's website at https://www.mwra.com/harbor/html/bhrecov.htm.

MWRA is submitting one report this quarter, MWRA's Contingency Plan Report on Ambient Monitoring for the first quarter of 2024.

As has been observed since outfall startup in September 2000, findings in this report continue to indicate that the Deer Island Treatment Plant outfall discharge is not adversely impacting the environment.

MWRA will provide raw monitoring data upon request. If you have any questions regarding this matter, please email Betsy Reilley at betsy.reilley@mwra.com.

Sincerely,

Rebecca Weidman Deputy Chief Operating Officer **Enclosures:** One Ambient Monitoring report. This report is available online. To request a hard copy, please email web.enquad@mwra.com or Betsy Reilley at betsy.reilley@mwra.com.

Reports:

MWRA. 2024. Contingency Plan Report, First Quarter 2024: Ambient Monitoring. 6 p.

Cc:

Environmental Protection Agency, Region ISteve Wolf

Cape Cod Commission
Timothy Pasakarnis

Alexa Sterling

Environmental Affairs

Outfall Monitoring Science Advisory Panel

National Marine Fisheries Service Robert Beardsley

Christine Vaccaro Peter Burn

Stellwagen Bank National Marine Sanctuary

Virginia Edgcomb
Loretta Fernandez

Peter DeCola

Robert Kenney
Mark Patterson

US Food and Drug Administration

Judith Pederson

David Lamoureux Jeffrey Rosen
Juliet Simpson

MA Executive Office of Energy and

Juanita Urban-Rich

Vandana M. Rao Public Interest Advisory Committee

Bruce Berman
MA Division of Marine Fisheries

Christian Petitpas Hyannis Library
Terry O'Neil Antonia Stephens

MA Department of Public HealthMWRA LibraryMichael MoorePhilip Burgess