MWRA Online
About MWRA
Water System
Sewer System
Harbor and Bay
School Program
Doing Business with MWRA
Contact MWRA

Poster, Writing and Video Contest Winners

Massachusetts Water Resources Authority


Congratulations, Winners!

We are pleased to announce the winners of our annual poster, writing and video contests. This year, students across the MWRA service area were challenged to show the ways we use water, how Boston Harbor has benefited from the end of sludge pollution and how MWRA recycles sewage sludge into Bay State Fertilizer.

The contest winners, along with their teachers and families, will be honored at an awards ceremony at MWRA's Deer Island Wastewater Treatment Plant on Friday, May 27, 2016.


2015-2016 Poster Contest Winners

See All Winning Posters

Grades K-2
1st Place Sofia D’Ambrosio Veterans Memorial School, Saugus
2nd Place Emma Rose Noe J.R. Lowell School, Watertown
3rd Place Samantha Salvador J.R. Lowell School, Watertown
HM Julia Campos George Keverian School, Everett
HM Giada Gergerian William P. Gorman/Ft. Banks School, Winthrop
HM Hannah McKenna

Warren-Prescott School, Charlestown

HM Cindy Huynh M.L. Donovan Elementary School, Randolph
Poster Contest Winners, Grades 3-5
1st Place Dante Martiniello Captain Samuel Brown School, Peabody
2nd Place Gabriella Guadagno Kaluski Warren-Prescott School, Charlestown
3rd Place Maya Jaugust Argenziano School @ Lincoln Park, Somerville
HM Natalia Hall-Rosa Lyons Elementary School, Randolph
HM Logan Jeune St. Mary’s of the Hills School, Milton
HM Jazzmin Portillo The Webster School, Everett
HM Julianne Faye Gabriel Captain Samuel Brown School, Peabody
Poster Contest Winners, Grades 6-8
1st Place Joy Gong Jonas Clarke Middle School, Lexington
2nd Place Tinotenda Duche Lafayette School, Everett
3rd Place Anna F. Honohan Jonas Clarke Middle School, Lexington
HM Milana Bellantuono McCall Middle School, Winchester
HM Aliyaah Jose Lafayette School, Everett
HM Sarah Pottle Marshall Simonds Middle School, Burlington
HM Jasmine Sun McCall Middle School, Winchester

Back to top


2015-2016 Writing Contest Winners

Read All Winning Essays

Grades 3-5
1st Place Kaeleen Elle Chen Belmont Day School, Belmont
2nd Place Michael Rivers Galvin Middle School, Wakefield
3rd Place Jonah Siegel Brooks Elementary School, Medford
HM Kaelen Beardsley Linden S.T.E.A.M. Academy, Malden
HM Hazel Catherine Collier Warren-Prescott School, Charlestown
HM Slade Harding Linden S.T.E.A.M. Academy, Malden
HM Paige MacGibbon Galvin Middle School, Wakefield
Grades 6-8
1st Place Luke Macannuco McCall Middle School, Winchester
2nd Place Nirantheri Vithiananthan McCall Middle School, Winchester
3rd Place Michael Whitney Oak Hill Middle School, Newton Centre
HM Kate Butts Oak Hill Middle School, Newton Centre
HM Qixuan Eric Chen McCall Middle School, Winchester
HM Varun Swaminathan McCall Middle School, Winchester
HM Demi Kroumpouzos St. Mary of the Hills School, Milton

Back to top


2015-2016 Video Contest Winners

Watch all Winning Videos - Playlist on YouTube

Grades 9-12
1st Place LaQueen Arias, Keren Garcia, and Jhonata Sousa Quincy High School
2nd Place Cassie Harbour, Gwen Orav,
Ryan Rhodes and Alison Young
Bedford High School
3rd Place Stephen Anderson,
Jordan Breveleri and Crystal Garcia
West Roxbury Academy

Back to top

MWRA Staff Contact

Meg Tabacsko

Vicki Mucci


Back to top

Updated May 12, 2016